Fishing Rod

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fishing Rod, 2008
130cm X 14cm
Wire
This is the final project for the first term. In the first term we experimented with wire and used the material to create mobiles and kinetic sculptures. Since many people did mobiles, I decided to create a different type of kinetic sculpture.
What inspired me to do a fishing rod was the coincidence that I saw one the week before my proposal. It was also an inspiration from my sculpture teacher, John Stewart and John Lofthouse (theatre), both of whom are really interested in fishing. I also wanted to challenge myself with a bigger project, and challenge the material so that I could test my skills and the extent of the material.
It is totally made out of wire and handmade, with a turning reel and actual fishing line threaded through the rod.

Leave a Reply

