Designer Recycler

As promised, a sneak peek into what I am currently experimenting with:

image

What you see are two paper bags, one inside the other, cut with random geometric designs and layered. These two bags are from two different supermarkets – Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, given to me by my girlfriend during her current tertiary education in the USA.

This was inspired by two service trips to Cambodia where I saw handicrafts such as wallets, handbags, etc. that were made by street youths and adults to supply them with a source of income. Now what sets these handicrafts apart from others is their innovative and creative use of materials. They are in actual fact made of recycled materials, including soda cans and newspapers, among others. What astounded me was that these materials, uninteresting and “useless” as they would usually seem, were made into really durable, waterproof items that were functional. So, after I was presented with the numerous paper bags, it brought to mind all the handicrafts I saw in Cambodia and made me ask myself if I could do something similar; something that had functionality as well as artistic design. So that is what you see before you in the picture above.

At this moment, the paper bag is reinforced around the rim and interior. As I mentioned earlier, it is one bag inside another, making it stiffer and, therefore, stronger. Hopefully, in the near future I will be able to make it more functional and longer lasting so that it can be used for a wider range of purposes. Currently, 99 percent of the materials are totally recycled and recyclable, and I hope to keep it that way till the end.

Right now, I need to find ways to stiffen the paper even more without compromising the idea of recycling so that it’ll be more durable. Also, I am thinking of more ways to make them more functional so that people can use it on a day-to-day basis.

If any of you guys have any input, it would be greatly appreciated :))) I hope you stay tuned for updates and hopefully, just hopefully, I’ll be able to unveil my body of works. SOON…

My inspiration:
Friends International – Mith Samlanh
Peter Callesen

Leave a Reply

